Gender and ICT Awards

International Recognition to innovative and effective projects by women to use ICTs for the promotion of gender equality and /or women's empowerment. An initiative of APC WNSP and GKP
HomeGender and ICT AdvocacyInformation about the AwardsOutstanding Gender and ICT ProjectsGICT Projects Database2005 Awards
Eligibility and CriteriaApplication PeriodAbout the Women's Networking Support Programme (APC WNSP)About the Global Knowledge Partnership (GKP)FundingICT Awards Worldwide

Eligibility and Criteria


To be alerted regarding eligibility and application for the 2007 Gender and ICT Awards, contact


Focus of the Awards

The focus of the 2005 Awards was on ICT initiatives that promote women’s economic empowerment as it relates to development.

Economic empowerment is seen in terms of:

  • overcoming marginalisation, oppressive social norms, and inadequate support and responsibility from governments in terms of access & rights to resources & making sound decisions;
  • offering women choice and opportunity,
  • encouraging women to fulfil their potentials;
  • giving voice and capability to counter their seeming powerlessness.

ICT-related development is defined not only as it relates to income or material deprivation but as resolving basic needs of the community and promoting social networking through ICT intervention.The focus is not on the technology itself but in looking at the practical gender and strategic application by women to address their local needs and the specificity of their situations.

Two winners will be awarded for:

Outstanding ICT Project for Women's Economic Empowerment

A cash prize of USD $8,000 will be given to each winner.


The GICT Awards are open to civil society organisations, community-based groups, women's organisations and networks and social movements in the following countries: Afghanistan, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, and Tuvalu.

The target beneficiaries of the projects must be women or girls. Special attention will be given to projects initiated by women themselves.

Both project and project owners should be based in any of the Asia Pacific countries mentioned above.

To be considered, the projects must be operational for at least two years and should be able to demonstrate results.

The awards program does not give grants for future projects, or research studies by graduate or undergraduate students.

Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) refer to the broad range of digital technologies like computer hardware and software, fixed lines and mobile phones, electronic mail, satellite technology, wireless or cable networks, multimedia tools (convergence of the Internet and radio and/or video), and the Internet which are used to create, transmit and distribute information and services. Initiatives must have, in any manner, actual use of the Internet in order to qualify.


The Awards will honour local, small-scale and community-based projects with women and girls as the main beneficiaries.

1. Utilizes ICTs to promote women's economic empowerment and gender equality

a. Uses information and communications technologies (ICTs) in support of women’s economic empowerment and the promotion of gender equality.

b. Demonstrates the impact of supporting individual women, communities of women, or women’s organizations, to improve the quality of their lives and to make meaningful contributions to equitable human development and the broader struggle for social justice.

2. Upscales initiatives and community-centred technologies

a. Uses information and communication tools that are sustainable for a long period of time and appropriate to the needs and specific contexts of the community it is serving.

b. Has the potential and ease to be replicated in other areas taking into account the different contexts and forces at play.

c. Broadens the reach and impact of pilot ICT initiatives targeted towards women's economic empowerment and gender equality.

3. Promotes cooperation and social networking

a. Fosters multi-stakeholder cooperation and active participation among different sectors (e.g., local communities and business, government, other organisations) in the community.

b. Acts as a channel to access information, gain social support and confidence, nurtures collective or community life.

c. Strengthens the capacity of people in implementing the project.

Learning Lessons and Sharing Strategies

To be eligible for the Awards, applicants need to reflect on and express understanding and strategic analysis of the methods and tools they used, and of their own failures and ultimate success in such a way that others can learn from their experience.


Nominations will be accepted until May 15, 2005. Winners will be selected and announced by August 30, 2005. Please take note of the detailed submissions information, to facilitate sending applications.


For the 2005 awards, application forms must be submitted in English.