Gender and ICT Awards

International Recognition to innovative and effective projects by women to use ICTs for the promotion of gender equality and /or women's empowerment. An initiative of APC WNSP and GKP
HomeGender and ICT AdvocacyInformation about the AwardsOutstanding Gender and ICT ProjectsGICT Projects Database2005 Awards
Eligibility and CriteriaApplication PeriodAbout the Women's Networking Support Programme (APC WNSP)About the Global Knowledge Partnership (GKP)FundingICT Awards Worldwide

International ICT Awards


  • The APC Hafkins Communications Prize
    The $7,500 USD APC Hafkin Prize - a biannual award - recognises outstanding examples of African initiatives in information and communications technology (ICTs) for development, with specific themes varying every Award period. Past themes have included community connectivity for economic development and people-centred ICT policy in Africa. The Prize is named after Nancy Hafkin, a pioneeer in internet access across Africa.

  • The APC Betinho Communications Prize
    The Betinho Prize recognises and documents outstanding examples of how the internet can make a real difference in Latin America and the Caribbean. Iin 2003 and 2005 the Betinho Prize was offered in recognition of outstanding examples of ICT use specifically based in Latin America and the Caribbean. Applications are accepted in some of the most widely used languages in the region - Spanish, Portuguese and English.The $7,500 USD prize commemorates the inspirational life and work of Herbet de Souza (Betinho), a visionary Brazilian social activist.

  • Stockholm Challenge
    The Stockholm Challenge is an international networking program for ICT entrepreneurs demonstrating how information technology can improve living conditions and increase economic growth. One of the main features of the Stockholm Challenge is the ICT prize, the Stockholm Challenge Award, which has attracted over 3000 projects over the years.

  • The Baltic Challenge
    The "Baltic Challenge Award" is designed to stimulate the development of user oriented ICT solutions in the Baltic Sea Region, promoting increased regional cooperation and joint ventures. Twelve countries are invited to participate.